Michael Lovesmith - I Can Make It Happen

Michael Lovesmith
Funk / Soul
I Can Make It Happen
Label: Motown ‎– 6045ML
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Date of released: 1983
Category: Electronic, Funk / Soul
Style: Soul, Funk, Disco

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 He Only Looks The Part
Lead Guitar – Tony Peluso
A2 Sorry Won't Get It 3:36
A3 She's Trouble
Rhythm Guitar – Tony PelusoWritten-By – Billy Livsey, Sue Shifrin, Terry Britten
A4 A Promise Is A Promise 4:05
A5 What's The Bottom Line 3:01
B1 I Can Make It Happen For You (Prelude) 0:25
B2 Baby I Will 5:36
B3 Even As We Speak 3:32
B4 Just Say The Word
Lead Guitar – Paul M. Jackson, Jr.*
B5 I Can Make It Happen For You 4:55

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Motown Record Corporation
  • Copyright (c) – Motown Record Corporation
  • Published By – Jobete Music Co., Inc.
  • Published By – Myaxe Music
  • Published By – Quince Music
  • Published By – Chappell Music
  • Published By – Sookloozy Music
  • Recorded At – Motown/Hitsville U.S.A. Recording Studios
  • Recorded At – Artisan Sound Recorders
  • Recorded At – Jennifudy Studios


  • Arranged By – Michael Lovesmith
  • Art Direction – Johnny Lee
  • Bass – "Ready" Freddie Washington*
  • Coordinator [Production Coordinator] – Gail Pierson
  • Design – Terry Taylor
  • Drums – Mike Baird
  • Engineer [2nd Engineer] – Dennis Eveland, Rick Clifford, Stephan Smith , Tim Dennen
  • Engineer [Mixing Engineer] – Tony Peluso
  • Engineer [Recording Engineer] – Roger Nichols, Tony Peluso
  • Lacquer Cut By [Runouts] – JM*
  • Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals [Background Vocals], Keyboards [Additional Keyboards], Synthesizer [Synthesizers], Bass – Michael Lovesmith
  • Percussion – Paulinho DaCosta*
  • Photography By – Ron Slenzak
  • Piano [Acoustic], Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Synthesizer [Synthesizers], Synthesizer [Moog Bass] – Robbie Buchanan
  • Producer – Michael Lovesmith, Steve Barri
  • Rhythm Guitar [All Rhythm Guitars] – Paul M. Jackson, Jr.*
  • Saxophone, Soloist [Lyricon Solos], Lyricon – Richard Elliot
  • Sequenced By [Wendel Rhythm Machine] – Roger Nichols
  • Written-By – Michael Lovesmith (tracks: A1, A2, A4 to B5)


Label variation.
Another promotional release with same catalog # "I Can Make It Happen" exists but information appears differently on label.

Recorded at Motown / Hitsville U.S.A. Recording Studios, Hollywood, California, Artisan Sound Recorders, Hollywood, California & Jennifudy Recording Studios, North Hollywood, California.

All songs published by Jobete Music Co., Inc. (ASCAP) except "She's Trouble" published by Myaxe Music, Quince Music, Chappell Music (ASCAP) & Sookloozy Music (BMI)

℗ 1983 Motown Record Corporation, © 1983 Motown Record Corporation
Printed in U.S.A.

Paul M. Jackson, Jr. appears courtesy of Fat Jack The II Productions

Promotional release housed inside commercial picture sleeve with barcode.
"For Promotion Only" gold-stamped on front of sleeve.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Label Side A): 6045MLA
  • Matrix / Runout (Label Side B): 6045MLB
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched Side A (ZLN JM script)): 6045ML-A-1SB ZLN #13 002 JM BPF
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched Side B (ZLN JM script)): 6045ML-B-RE1-1SA̶ C ZLN #13 004 JM BPI
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Barcode (Text): 0 5010-96015-1 7

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
6045ML Michael Lovesmith I Can Make It Happen ‎(LP, Album) Motown 6045ML US 1983
LPS 99.664 Michael Lovesmith I Can Make It Happen ‎(LP, Album) Motown LPS 99.664 Venezuela 1983
6045ML Michael Lovesmith I Can Make It Happen ‎(LP, Album, Promo) Motown 6045ML US 1983
6045ML Michael Lovesmith I Can Make It Happen ‎(LP, Album) Motown 6045ML US 1983
6045 MC Michael Lovesmith I Can Make It Happen ‎(Cass, Album) Motown 6045 MC US 1983